Aviva

Aviva

Directed by Boaz Yakin | 2020 | 116 minutes | Not Rated | USA, France | English

An official selection of the 2020 SXSW Film Festival, Outsider Pictures presents Aviva — a uniquely sexy, dancing-in-the-streets-and-sheets take on romance, set in a world of gender-fluid, frequently unclothed bodies.

The character of Aviva, played by both Zina Zinchenko (and at times by Or Schraiber), is a young Parisian who develops an online romance with Eden, played by Tyler Phillips (and at times Bobbie Jene Smith), a New Yorker. After a long courtship they meet in person and fall in love, settling into an intimate relationship that leads to marriage, but one, as many are, laced with conflicts.

Incorporating exuberant dance sequences, and featuring a pair of principal characters played by four different actors daringly expressing both masculine and feminine sides, Aviva captures a restless and changing today where who we are as women and men, and how we navigate the world, is up for grabs.

Opening weekend Q&A’s with Director Boaz Yakin and key cast on each day as follows:

– Saturday 13th June at 4pm PST/7pm EST
– Sunday 14th June at 1pm PST/4pm EST
– Saturday 20th June at 4pm PST/7PM EST

Register at this link : https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Bg_EV3zkS_uaIGPpYb-pKQ

Link to purchase tickets to stream this film in our Virtual Cinema will be available from Friday, June 12th (Thursday at Midnight) until Thursday, June 25th. To purchase and stream, click the button below!

A portion of every ticket purchased goes directly towards supporting Orange County’s only nonprofit Art-house theater. Tickets for Aviva are $11.99!


“A freewheeling blend of dance and surrealist interrogations of gender identity…entrancing.” — Eric Kohn, IndieWire